Back to top


Travel Ban Update: Additional Clarifications from the Canadian Government

The Government of Canada continues to provide updates on the measures to combat the spread of the COVID-19 virus in Canada. We will continue to provide updated information as it becomes available, and we recommend that you monitor official Government of Canada releases for the most up-to-date information.



Further to our latest update, this morning, Transport Canada provided further information and clarification regarding the implementation of the travel ban to Canada.

Transport Canada has confirmed that air carriers on flights to Canada will deny boarding to any passenger who is not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and has resided in any country other the U.S. in the last 14 days.

As a result, travelers will not be permitted to board a plane to Canada if they have been outside of Canada or the United States in the last 14 days, unless they are a Canadian citizen, Canadian permanent resident, or in transit to a third country.

The measure will come into force on Wednesday, March 18 at 12:00 p.m. (noon) EDT. As this measure applies to travel by air, it does not apply to surface traffic or marine shipping.

Additional travel measures announced by the Government of Canada yesterday, including the redirection of all international flights to four (4) airports, are still set to come into effect on Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at 12:01 a.m. EDT.



If you are currently in Canada, we recommend that you avoid all non-essential travel outside of the country until further notice. In addition, all foreign nationals in Canada must maintain valid temporary resident status. If your status is set to expire, please contact our office for assistance in extending your status as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

If you are currently outside of Canada and hold temporary status in Canada, we strongly recommend that you return to Canada today, March 17, 2020. As a result of the travel ban, you will not be able to board a plane to return to Canada if you have been outside of Canada or the United States within the last 14 days and you are not a Canadian citizen, Canadian permanent resident, U.S. citizen, or in transit to a third country. Foreign nationals residing in the United States for the last 14 days continue to be eligible to travel to Canada, and will be subject to a 14-day self-isolation upon their return.