Back to top


New Visa Exemptions

Canada will now allow certain citizens of thirteen (13) countries, who previously required visas to enter Canada, to apply for Electronic Travel Authorizations (eTAs).

This new list of countries includes:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • Kitts and Nevis
  • Lucia
  • Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

The eTA program allows travellers to apply to enter Canada quickly, using an online process. Application fees are only $7, and eTAs are generally approved within minutes.

Now, citizens of the above-named countries will be able to benefit from the ability to apply for an eTA, if they are visiting Canada as a tourist, are flying into Canada, and have previously held a Canadian visitor visa (within the past 10 years) or presently hold a US nonimmigrant visa.

Citizens of these countries who do not meet the above requirements will still need to apply for temporary resident visas.